business analysis doc
Publié le 04/11/2024
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King’s Business School, King’s College London
Cover Sheet for King’s Business School 23/24
Candidate ID:
AE 23375
Module Code:
5QQMB210
Module Name:
Entrepeneurial Ventures
Word Count:
1280
Please complete the above candidate and module information and attach to the
front of your answer sheet/submission or write your answers on the following
page(s).
Where applicable students should clearly state the question(s) they are answering
(e.g.
Question 1, Part A) so it can be clearly identified for markers.
DECLARATION BY STUDENT
I understand what is meant by plagiarism/collusion and have signed at enrolment
the declaration concerning the avoidance of plagiarism/collusion.
I understand that plagiarism and collusion is a serious examinations offence that
may result in disciplinary action being taken.
I understand that I must submit work BEFORE the deadline, and that failure to do
so may result in late submission penalties.
I understand that where a word limit is indicated, I should adhere to the word limit
and failure to do so may result in penalties.
I understand that King's requires students to acknowledge any use of generative AI
tools in coursework.
Please select and complete the applicable statement, and
provide additional information where required.
1.
I declare that no part of this submission has been generated by AI
software.
These are my own words.
Note.
Using software for English grammar and spell checking is consistent
with Statement 1.
[or]
2.
I declare that parts of this submission have contributions from AI software
and that it aligns with acceptable use as specified as part of the assignment
brief/ guidance and is consistent with good academic practice.
The content
can still be considered as my own words.
I understand that as long as my use
falls within the scope of appropriate use as defined in the assessment
brief/guidance then this declaration will not have any direct impact on the
grades awarded.
I acknowledge use of software to [include only the statements which apply,
and provide details as appropriate]:
(i) Generate ideas or structure suggestions, for assistance with
understanding core concepts, or other substantial foundational and
preparatory activity.
[insert AI tool(s) and links and/or how used]
(ii) Write, rewrite, rephrase and/or paraphrase part of this essay.
[insert AI tool(s) and links]
(iii) Generate some other aspect of the submitted assessment.
[insert AI tool(s) and links] / Include brief details]
By completing this assessment, you acknowledge that you have read and
understand the above.
Please do not sign your name.
SECTION 1
CALCULATING FINANCIAL VIABILITY
To calculate the financial viability of my app, I had to calculate the Cost of Goods Sold
(COGS) and the customer acquisition costs in order to monitor my business’s prospective
performance.
The Cost of Goods Sold “consists of all the costs associated with producing
the goods or providing the services offered by the company.” And so, for the costs
associated with my app “Recetterie” I have outlined the following costs [1]:
● Application hosting and monitoring costs £800 p/m x 12 = 9,600 [2]
● Data communication expenses £200 p/m x 12 = 2,400 [3]
● Software licence fees £350 p/m x 12 = 4,200 [4]
● Website development and support costs £80 p/m x 12 = 960 [2]
● Subscription costs £150 p/m x 12 = 1,800 [2]
TOTAL COGS = 18,960
The Customer Acquisition Costs = Marketing Expenses (£5,000) [5] + User Acquisition
Costs (£2,500) + Retention Costs (£500)
TOTAL CACs= 8,000
CACS per user 8,000/10,000 = 0.8
To estimate Unit Economics, I’m going to assume that I have acquired 10,000 users.
Therefore, my COGS per user would be 18,960/10,000 = 1.896
Lifetime Value per User = Revenue per User - COGS per User
As established in the Group project, 63.7% of my users are willing to pay between 5-10£.
So, I have assumed an average price of £7.5 per user.
LTV p/u (7.5 - 1.896) = 5.604
Unit economics= LTV/ CAC 5.604/1.896 = 2.95
Given the one-off fee revenue model, the total revenue generated from 10,000 users is
£75,000.
As we can see, if 10,000 users subscribe to my app, the unit economics will be positive.
An alternative business model that could improve “Recetterie’s” unit economics would be the
implementation of a subscription- based model, charging users a monthly subscription as
opposed to a one-off payment.
Another possibility would be to implement a “Freemium model” by which users under the
free version of Recetterie could have access to a limited number of recipes and meals
allowed to be accounted for, while those who pay for the more “premium” version of the app
have unlimited access to the app's content.
Additionally, the app could increase its revenue through the use of affiliate links by which
every time an individual is guided to an online food store from a recipe on “Recetterie”, a
small commission is received.
SECTION 2
APPROACH TO GROWTH
My food budgeting app “Recetterie" offers a cost-effective solution for people wishing to
manage their food expenses.
However, achieving unicorn growth, characterised by a
valuation exceeding 1 billion, will most probably be unlikely due to the rarity of ventures
reaching this valuation.
Additionally, unicorns typically revolutionise and disrupt the market,
challenging its status quo, something which my app “Recetterie” will not do.
Furthermore, the food budgeting market does not exhibit the hyper-growth potential seen in
other sectors such as, for instance, tech.
Moreover, indirect competition from existing apps
or services such as Hello Fresh, Gousto, etc., along with potential challenges in large scale
monetization and user acquisition costs, could limit the apps scalability.
Not to mention the
fact that, in order for unicorns to succeed, they carry out blitz scaling, which requires very
large amounts of funding which I most probably would....
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